Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Quartzsite & The BLM!

Lexicon7
Explorer
Explorer
Quartzsite & the BLM!

While I am not currently full timing, I did get my proverbial feet wet last year and spent some time in San Diego County where my life once was and stayed in the Laguna Mountain BLM areas. For camping with my 2005 F-250 Super Duty and Lance Truck Camper, I acquired both a โ€œPermitโ€ for dry camping and maps at the Ranger Station in nearby Alpine but the area they sent me out to find was in the middle of a burned out area from recent brush fires. Needless to say I was beyond unhappy and could not stay there. After getting such wonderful assistance from said authorities in the area I decided to use the maps and try to find something with a bit more appeal! As a retired Land Surveyor I would have been amused by the โ€œmapsโ€ I was sold but had no recourse but to attempt to make them work!
I moved around a bit but was not impressed by the places I found and at no time was I confident I was actually IN a โ€œdesignatedโ€ dry camping area so it was tenuous going at best. Complications with my home sale had caused me to delay my departure which was planned for the winter desert season at Quartzsite so I ended up setting out right at summers beginning. Even so, one day I decided to depart the Laguna area and travel out to Quartzsite. I left too late in the day and after checking out some of the river areas I finally arrived at Quartzsite but could not be sure I had actually located any of the LTVA areas or La Posa as shown on line.
So the common problem was 2 for 2 with little or no signage at both of my early stops and the poorly marked BLM dry camping areas were a huge issue for me. Admittedly, by the time I reached Quartzsite the day was winding down and I ended up in the desert at dusk. Since finding a place to dry camp at night is just not suggested, I drove back to the Laguna's and hung out there a while longer.