cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

looking for advice on floor replacement

mwill07
Explorer
Explorer
Hi, I am new to the forum and this is my first post here. I'm also new to campers as well. Over the weekend, I purchased a 2004 Aerolite 215 (hybrid). I knew there was a soft spot in the floor, but didn't realize how bad it was until I got it home and started digging into it. Long story short, approximately 1/2 of the flooring will have to be replaced. I like to think I'm pretty handy and am up for the challenge.

floor construction seems to be 1/4" plywood, 1 1/2" styrofoam, 1/4" plywood. Vinyl on top, and what seems to be some sort of waterproof "tarp" bonded to the bottom.

As you can guess, the bottom "tarp" retained any moisture that made it in, and basically forced the wood to sit inside it's own soup - no way it wouldn't rot.

I know the conventional answer is to make sure that the floor never gets wet, but scanning the web and seeing the number of people dealing with this, it seems like an impossibility. I'm curious if it might be better to allow the floor to breathe (i.e. not completely waterproof bottom surface of flooring)?

Also - I am considering a couple improvements to the floor: thicker plywood or possibly adding some aluminum joists inside the sandwich construction. (thinking about it, I like the aluminum joist idea better to maintain overall floor thickness).

I'm quite sure this has come up before. Can anyone point me in the direction of other informative threads or resources?

Thanks!
2 REPLIES 2

mwill07
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for the good words, DrewE. I think you are right - no need to re-engineer the flooring.