cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup camera recommendations for 5er

dedmiston
I searched for recent conversations about backup cameras and found one in Truck Campers, but I think my requirements are different with a long fifth wheel (44.5 feet).

I'm just beginning to research cameras and I really don't know what options to even consider at this early stage. A camera isn't really 100% required, but it sure would be helpful. Sometimes I go to camp early and my family joins me later, so I'm pretty limited when I'm backing up without a spotter.

What should I be considering when I shop for a remote camera for a long fiver?

* What kind of technologies should I be looking at in a camera? Roof mount, license plate mount, etc.

* What wireless technologies are available? Will the camera beam the signal the 50 feet or so from the rear of my 5er to the cab of my truck?

* What monitor options should I research? I'd rather not add another display to my truck. I already have my tailgate cam that displays in my mirror when I'm backing up, plus the nav display, and I have a little screen for my TPMS. How good are the visor displays? Or can I view a signal on my iPhone? The iPhone probably isn't the best choice because of the size of the screen and the awkwardness of holding onto the phone while I'm backing up (illegal).

* How easy are the cameras to mount and wire?

2014 RAM 3500 Diesel 4x4 Dually long bed. B&W RVK3600 hitch • 2015 Crossroads Elevation Homestead Toy Hauler ("The Taj Mahauler") • <\br >Toys:

• 18 Can Am Maverick x3
  • 05 Yamaha WR450
  • 07 Honda CRF250X
  • 05 Honda CRF230
  • 06 Honda CRF230
12 REPLIES 12

Arcamper
Explorer
Explorer
If you go with the Furrion camera make sure you get the observation camera and not the backup camera. I had both and the observation camera is much better and never had a lost signal like I did with the backup camera. Of course it also cost more but to me it was worth it.