cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

leveling systems for fifth wheelers

EASY_RIDER
Explorer
Explorer
do most 5th wheels have automated leveling systems, or do you have to level yourself? I have no experience with 5th wheels, have always had a motothome.

thanks

Tom
47 REPLIES 47

Allworth
Explorer II
Explorer II
Tom,

I assume that by now you understand that "fifth wheelers" are people and "fifth wheels" are trailers.

The best way to keep fifth wheelers level is to keep them away from the adult beverages.
Formerly posting as "littleblackdog"
Martha, Allen, & Blackjack
2006 Chevy 3500 D/A LB SRW, RVND 7710
Previously: 2008 Titanium 30E35SA. Currently no trailer due to age & mobility problems. Very sad!
"Real Jeeps have round headlights"

Stefonius
Explorer
Explorer
stetwood wrote:
If I see the site is not level, I get out a level, a long stick that is also used for making sure the hitch is at the right height, and a few blocks of wood. I determine BEFORE backing in the correct number of blocks with the level and blocking, put them down and back up on them. Time elapsed, the time to open the container holding the blocks and level, walking back to the unlevel site, leveling the site, and walking back to the truck, no more than 5-8 minutes.
You, Stetwood, are a genius. I'm going to have to mock up a similar system for myself during the off-season. If it saves me having to back into the same site twice, it's worth it!
2003 F450 Crew Cab, 7.3 PSD "Truckasaurus"
2010 Coachmen North Ridge 322RLT fiver "Habitat for Insanity"
I love my tent, but the DW said, "RV or Divorce"...

RWalt
Explorer
Explorer
The only thing that I would add is we added a scissor jack to the rear of our Alpine 3495. Our unit has a long overhang and with the bedroom in the rear of the unit this was necessary. We placed the jack under a 2 inch box receiver.
2013 Ford CC SB 4X4 6.7
50 gal Titan fuel cell
2013 Alpine 3495

Shepherd
Explorer
Explorer