cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

leveling

Gray_Fox
Explorer
Explorer
What is the best way to level a 5th/W from side to side, I know the auto-level is the best, but the next best thing is what. Maybe some one out there has a better way than me, I use small blocks.
Gray Fox
2014 F350 4x4 Diesel Lariat
2009 HitchHiker-LS 34.5 RLTG
Always keep moving so you don't seize up.
16 REPLIES 16

DutchmenSport
Explorer
Explorer
drwwicks: "In addition to a few sections of the 2x8 I also carry a few 1x8 to fine tuned the level. The get used under the tires and jacks when a 2x8 is too thick."

I carry a bunch of lumber with me, pretty much all the time. All are 2x6 or 2x8 boards. I've considered carrying 1x? for some time, but some how just never tossed one in my pile. Probably because everything I'm using is treated lumber and I've been using these same boards for the last 20 years, beginning from my pop-up camper days. Maybe some day I'll finally get a treated 1x? scrap I can toss in my mix.

Meanwhile, I found that with tandem axles, if a 2x? is placed under both tires on one side, and its off just about a 1x? height, I can usually put a 2x? under one tire on top of the longer board under it. This raises one wheel by 2 inches (approximately) and the over all lift on the camper on that side equals to about the 1 inch (half). Anyway, for me, this works pretty well. I suppose if I had the 1x? boards, I could fine tune it to a 1/2 inch variance.

But, I've also found that just tightening the leveling jacks good and tight will atone for that extra 1/2 inch too.

Anyway, this is good advise, carry the 1x? along with you also.