cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

locking the jaws on the hitch

Campinfan
Explorer III
Explorer III
OK, I am new to towing a fiver so I have a question regarding posts I have seen in the past. People talk about locking the hitch jaws so no one will open them when they are stopped for awhile. My question is, how does someone pull the handle to unlock when the weight of the trailer is on the hitch. I have a Hijacker hitch so maybe it is dependent on what hitch you use but there is no way to pull the handle on mine when the weight of the trailer is on it. Are all hitches this way or is it an urban legend (like the guy who was trying to siphon gas from a MH and siphoned from the black tank--impossible since there is no way to access the black tank from the side of any rig.)

The only way I see to do this is that someone would have to lower the landing gear to take the weight off the hitch, unlatch the hitch and then retract the landing gear again.
32 REPLIES 32

time2roll
Nomad
Nomad
Yea I want a narrow bed dually. Just enough room for a hitch and I am good.
No need to haul 4x8 plywood.

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
BillB3857 wrote:
I would have a really hard time reaching a lock on my release lever. The big hips on my dually would require very long arms. Mine won't make it and I'm 6'4".

I just stand on my tire and do all the hitching and unhitching. I have plans to design and build a pull out step just in front of the drivers side rear tire.
2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

jalichty
Explorer
Explorer