cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Need Help with Small Toy Hauler Purchase

sncurtis
Explorer
Explorer
I apologize if this is a dumb question, I'm pretty new to the TT world and am very confused.

My husband and I were planning on purchasing a 2015 Skyline Aljo 160B toy hauler that is new but on closeout at a dealership so seems to be a good deal. Our tow vehicle is a 2008 Toyota 4Runner V6 with a 5K tow capacity and we have 2 dirt bikes at about 250 lbs each. When I first contacted the dealership about the trailer they said the unloaded vehicle weight was 2,300 lbs and the GVWR is 3,850 lbs which equals 1,550 carrying capacity.

However, after doing some more research I saw that on their website they actual list the weight as 2,965 lbs and similar units online have had a weight closer to that as well. I emailed the dealer about the listed weight and she insisted that the 2,300 lbs, not 2,965 lbs, was correct and it does in fact have a 1,550 carrying capacity. Am I wrong to think I'm being lied to here? We live in the middle of nowhere Wyoming and this dealer is about 400 miles away so we can't just stop by.

If the weight is actually 2,965 lbs with 3,850 lb GVWR that would only leave 885 lbs left for cargo and with our bikes being about 500 lbs total, that would mean my husband, dog and myself couldn't all be in the trailer at once with the bikes? That seems odd...

What am I missing here?

Thank you in advance!
12 REPLIES 12

We_ll_See
Explorer
Explorer
The 3,850 rating is a 3,500 pound axle and 350 pounds of tongue weight.
Jeep and Explorer

Blackdiamond
Explorer
Explorer
sncurtis wrote: