cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie here - Stupid question perhaps.... 2 Actually

jbstack28
Explorer
Explorer
1. Question one. My rig is still in storage have not set off on Maiden voyage. My slide in Kitchen leaves a trail from a roller I suppose when I move slide in or out. The rig is only on the front jacks. Eye balling it, it seems level. Must the rig be 100% in order to run slides?

2. I have the newer six point leveling system. It has round feet beneath each of those points. Is it necessary to put wooden boards or something beneath those points when extended? Or do the feet safice ?

Thanks

Charlie Stackpole
jbstack28
2015 Montana 3791RD
8 REPLIES 8

Coach-man
Explorer
Explorer
GoPackGo wrote:
I have the 6-way leveling too. I use plastic jack pads if in dirt, gravel or asphalt. Asphalt can get real hot and soften.

The legs will only go out so far. So if you set up and you are too far off level, the system will get as close as it can, but you may still not be level. So I carry a couple sets of jack pads. If setting up on a slant, I put a couple under the legs that will extend the furthest just to make sure they will be able to level the rig.

X2! It all depends on where you camp, dirt, ashphalt, or uneven campsite will dictate weather to use some sort of extra support! I use pressure treated 2 x 10's and I have enough to handle any situation. Good luck.

ScottG
Nomad
Nomad
Our slide always left a black streak too and then while doing some other work to it i found out why. It wasn't a roller like I thought, it was the bottom edge of the slide rubbing against a black rubber seal and then depositing that black onto the carpet. I trimmed the seal a bit so it wound't rub on it anymore and solved the problem.

GoPackGo
Explorer
Explorer
I have the 6-way leveling too. I use plastic jack pads if in dirt, gravel or asphalt. Asphalt can get real hot and soften.