cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PO'd Rv owner

Rygar
Explorer
Explorer
Right now, I'm sitting here totally pissed off with Rv manufacturers. Last year while driving from the west coast to Toronto and back I had 2 major tire blowouts. This year, I'm planning on a longer trip. East. south, west and then north. So, I decided I needed 4 new tires for my Fifth wheel. I start my research online and talking with tire stores. I also check the forums here. I was a noob before I started this search. No longer. My Montana fifth wheel That max weight is 16,000lbs was delivered with Goodyear Marathon tires rated at 3000lbs. x 4 = 12,000lbs. So, this trailer was destined to fail. The blowouts were inevitable. Do these manufacturers not care one iota about the lives of the people who give them their money. I don't know how they can get away with this. I've only found two tires that would work on my trailer, both 14ply. Sailun and Samson. Sorry, rant over.
2011 Montana 3455SA
2013 Ford F350 4x4 Crew Cab King Ranch SRW
Gary & Jane Retired Toy Store owners
2 Sheltie Furkids Cammie & Stormy
44 REPLIES 44

lee_worsdell
Explorer
Explorer
ya just blew a marathon on my rushmore 15800lbs. Went to sailun no issues drove from Toronto to fredrickton nb in may. Smooth ride no fears

laknox
Nomad
Nomad
titleist wrote:
I just got back From Florida last weekend. Had 3 tires blow. 1 on the way down and 2 on the way back. 3 year old Goodyear Marathons. All were at 80 psi. I have written a letter to Goodyear so we will see what happens.

After the entire building recovers from their laughing fit, it'll hit the round-file PDQ, is my prediction.

Lyle
2022 GMC Sierra 3500 HD Denali Crew Cab 4x4 Duramax
B&W OEM Companion & Gooseneck Kit
2017 KZ Durango 1500 D277RLT
1936 John Deere Model A
International Flying Farmers 64 Year Member

titleist
Explorer
Explorer