cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Using Truck Stops

Rogue_Eagle
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to rving and would like to know if I can use truck stops to refuel my diesel pickup with 5th wheel?
61 REPLIES 61

ependydad
Explorer
Explorer
lpxguy wrote:
every time I've used a truck stop's diesel island the pump does not accept regular debit/credit cards...I guess it needs to be a commercial act.

That's correct unless you get one of the pump authorization cards from the truck stop that you're going to. We have one of the Pilot/Flying J RV cards and can activate the pump without going inside - it also gives us a discount (cash price minus some cents). But, we traveled for 2 years without it. I'd pull up to the pump and my wife would go inside. She'd call me when the pump was activated and I'd fuel up. When I was done, I'd pull ahead so the next trucker could get into the pump. She and the kiddo would grab a snack, make a pee and finish up the paying when I was done. I'd hit the head in the camper and we'd be on our way- well before the trucker behind me was done fueling.

About the only catch to truck stops- some of the smaller ones have the pump's computer on the wrong side. There was one that I had to take that nozzle and place it in their garbage can to activate the pump THEN go to the other side and filled my fuel tank. Hung that one up, went back to the computer side, hung it up and went inside to finish up payment. Took me longer than it should - to figure out what I was supposed to do. ๐Ÿ˜„

And, as usual - I agree with Lantley - truck stops are about convenience. If I'm making a 2,000 mile round trip- I'll use something in the ballpark of 200 gallons of fuel. A $0.10 difference in fuel prices works out to be $20 (or less than cost of a meal at McDs for my family of 4 - I'll just pack a couple of cans of tuna fish and call it awash).
2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
2018 Ram 3500 Crew Cab DRW w/ 4.10 gears and 8' bed