cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Vented tailgate

Hardcandy
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here with a question. What are the pros and cons of a vented tailgate? I have a 8' box with a trifold cover and my stock tailgate on now, what should I do? This wasn't an issue when I had my TT
TV: 2004.5 Chevy Silverado CCLB 6.6L 3500 DRW, K&N, EFI Live 60hp economy/tow tune, 4" magnaflow exhaust, B&W gooseneck W/ B&W Companion
S&W M&P 40cal in the door pocket...
2012 28.5' Jayco Eagle RLS w/super slide
Ruger 45cal on the nightstand
31 REPLIES 31

jalichty
Explorer
Explorer
I bought a "V" gate a number of years ago because I figured it wasn't if I was going to hurt my solid gate, but when. With the "V" you don't have to worry about forgetting to put the gate down and back up. As far as mileage, you are pulling a trailer or a FW, forget about getting better mileage. As far as safety from theft, I think a large number of them have keys to lock the gate so it only leaves a small place for those pesky thieves to get in if you have a covered bed, which I don't because I don't normally leave anything in the bed that I don't want to get stolen. But then, that's my personal preference and not everybody has the same preferences.
John A. Lichty

azjeffh
Explorer
Explorer
Allworth wrote:
Standing between the truck and the trailer, I lean in through the "V" and plug it in. I also load my 50amp cord (in a milk crate) through the cut down area and my wheel chocks (secured in another milk crate).

Got milk?

Sounds much easier than dropping the gate.
Jeff
Wonderful wife Robin
2016 F350 PSD Dually
2016 DRV 38RSSA

Allworth
Explorer II
Explorer II
Standing between the truck and the trailer, I lean in through the "V" and plug it in. I also load my 50amp cord (in a milk crate) through the cut down area and my wheel chocks (secured in another milk crate).

Got milk?
Formerly posting as "littleblackdog"
Martha, Allen, & Blackjack
2006 Chevy 3500 D/A LB SRW, RVND 7710