cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A new potential buyer, looking for insight.

image360
Explorer
Explorer
I've just started my research into buying a Class A RV. 40+ feet. I plan to make it my home for 3-5 years. I do plan to travel some during that period, but I guess you would call me for the most part a parker? Mostly in Austin, TX area. Please be kind the RV terms are new to me.

I'm a professional photographer, so I need a quite of bit of storage, so a basement is required.

I also plan to attach a motorized pole that can go up to 30 meters to the RV, not sure if some models are better suited to this or not.

I plan to have a Dingy? A car towed behind the RV.

For the most part it will only be me, living in it. Perhaps a rescue dog and/or cat too.

I plan to buy used and am trying to stay below $250,000 as a budget.

I also don't really like most traditional RV interior design. I like mid century modern design. I don't care for carpet, lots of wood cabinets, large over stuffed chairs or sofas. I'm not saying these are bad or wrong, it's just not what I'm looking for.

I need 50 amps with 5 or more outlets. I travel with a lot of "super" computers and 2-4 large LCD monitors.

Gas or diesel?

What else am I missing?

Looking forward to a new location free life.

Robert
28 REPLIES 28

steveownby
Explorer
Explorer
image360 wrote:
Thanks all for the info and suggestions. It's a good start for me, and yes I plan to research this for at least 3-4 months before doing anything. It's a long road of course - pun intended.

Is driving around 1-2 months of the year with a schedule like 4-6 weeks in one place, then 5-10 days driving considered a "parker?" Would that be enough to keep the mechanical's in good shape?

With your budget, I would look for a top line diesel pusher in the 2005 range. With your interior requirements, I would take it go a first class RV remodel business in Elkhart, IN and have the interior done to your satisfaction.