Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Class A or C, That is the question

trucker677
Explorer
Explorer
Hi Everyone,

I just joined the site tonight in hoping someone can help me answer questions. I am looking at purchasing my first RV, I am undecided on whether or not to buy a Class A or C. I have a wife and two teen daughters that live with my ex wife but I get them every summer, we were talking about going to different places next summer so I thought it would be fun to buy a used RV to do so.

what are the advantages and disadvantages of owning either. most of the class A I looked at all have the 454 ci engine, when did fuel injection come out for these. is there a huge mpg difference between carbed and fuel injected, is there a huge mpg difference between class A and class C. I am very comfortable driving large vehicles as I teach tractor trailer and highway coach bus for the Canadian military and I am a volunteer driver at our volunteer fire dept.

Thanks in advance for the replies and or comments, I look forward to exploring.
13 REPLIES 13

tjholyoke
Explorer
Explorer
We have had both...2 class C and now an A. In my opinion, the A is by far more comfortable. Here are some of the pros we see. (Others may have differing opinions)

We had issues with the view driving in a C. The cabover just seems to block vision. In the A we have better peripheral vision.

The bounce of the cabover section of the C was noisy and it seemed to fight the wind while driving. It also led to leak issues we feel.

In our opinion ducking to get in and out of the cab area under the overhang was not comfortable and led to many bumped heads. While having two doors to get in and out of was at times convenient, we didn't like that the seats didn't swivel to give us usable seats when parked like the ones do in our A.