Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dingy towing braking systems

Gamecock7483
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all,
I am new to Motorhome traveling and dingy towing. I am looking for a braking system and two I am considering are the InvisiBrake system by Road Master and the BrakeBuddy Classic. Does anyone have experience with either of these systems or information on which is the better system? Any help greatly appreciated.

Many thanks
22 REPLIES 22

ncrowley
Explorer II
Explorer II
I have used a Brake Buddy for over 3 years. Had an issue once while we were out of town and they shipped a new one to us at the campground - great customer service. Our just plain works and we like being able to use it in more than one vehicle.
Nancy
Newmar Northern Star

kalynzoo
Explorer
Explorer
I used the BrakeBuddy classic for many years. It worked, but...finding a place to store the "box" when we traveled with more than just 2 was a problem. A few times for whatever reason the car battery dropped below the minimum and when I stopped for a rest and checked the toad the BrakeBuddy was off. I guess my best bet if I were to keep the BrakeBuddy would be to run a charging line from the motorhome. Anyway, I changed to the ReadyBrake about 5 years ago. No box, no battery issues, just a surge cable. Works for me.

Gamecock7483
Explorer
Explorer
Many thanks for the info folks. Yes, quite strange to be saying lady Gamecocks. Also, congrats on your good football year. Hopefully, Gamecocks will do better this year.

JerryofWV
Explorer
Explorer
You should also check out the Ready Brake system.

ReadyBrake

I have used it for years and been happy with it. Once it's installed it is a simple hook up and unhook. Nothing to store when you're not using it.
Jerry & Dee Dee Pauley

2005 Monaco Monarch SE, Workhorse, Falcon II tow bar, ReadyBrake, 2012 Jeep Liberty Toad

The happiest people don't necessarily have the best of everything. They just make the best of everything they have.