cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DIY campervan project vs 2001 Ford E350 7.3 diesel V8??

evy
Explorer
Explorer
Ok so I'm getting close, my plans are getting clearer but I need a vehicle to get the ball rolling, I was thinking something recent like a 2011 model or maybe 2009 at worst but I just came across this thing and I wanted to get your expert's opinion on the subject.

For sale is a 2001 Ford E-350 V8 7.3L power stroke turbo diesel with 130 000miles on it + raised roof is already installed + crew cab + rear A/C + little bit of rust starting to show on bottom side panels + seams to run ok (I'm no expert).

I'm getting it inspected very soon and probably carfaxed.

Is this a good base vehicle for my project??
I did do some research and found a lot of good things about the 7.3L vs the 6.0, very reliable and lots of torque. also heard about a 16mpg average (city+hwy).

The seller is asking 4500$ but I think we have room for negotiations.

jjrai
Explorer
Explorer
I think the diesel gives this van real promise. It is not a lot of miles for that engine, but get the CarFax. Even if you have to fix some things, it will be way less than any other diesel B. let us know how it turns out.

eric1514
Explorer
Explorer
I would be looking for a low mileage 5 cyl MB Sprinter. MPG is top on my list when I go RV shopping.
2006 Dynamax Isata IE 250
420 Ah batteries
400w Solar

J_R2
Explorer
Explorer
We have a 03 7.3 diesel chatue club wagon. It has 138,00 on it. Ordered and took delivery oct 2002. Not problem 1. Great engine. I do question the V8 emblem over the front tire. Not on the 03 powerstroke. Also second battery under side door, mounted on frame.
Ron & Joanne 06 Revolution LE 40E

stan909
Explorer
Explorer
If rust isn't too bad that looks like a good deal. You will save a lot of money and hassle with the top already on it.Be sure to lay underneath to inspect it and maybe take someone with to temper your excitement. Good luck.

Arizona_Kid