cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

E450 Brake Master Cylinder K.I.A. ? Noooooo!!!

deprived
Explorer
Explorer
Okay - I've been slowly making my way through a front-end-rebuild of my 2008 Fleetwood Jamboree 26J. I've upgraded the components to new 2014 parts.

Only recently was I able to bleed the new brakes with a Motive Power Bleeder. I've bled brakes before using the "two-man" method but this was my first time using a pressurized bleeder. I bled the system extensively until all fluids ran clear and bubble-free.

Imagine my shock when I tested the brakes only to find the brake pedal SINKING TO THE FLOOR!!

I'm no expert but doesn't this usually indicate the master cylinder is shot?

How is this possible? Could the power bleeder have somehow ruined the master cylinder? I was only pressurized to 12 PSI.

Any ideas, musings, or suggestions? I don't mind replacing the MC - it's not too hard, at least in the few cars I done the job. But I'd rather not.

Has anyone else experience this?

Also, if you have personally replaced the MC in a E450 - are there any tips/suggestions/warnings?

THANKS TO ALL!!
8 REPLIES 8

deprived
Explorer
Explorer
j-d wrote:
Got any more pix to post?

I'll be sharing new stuff soon! We are in the middle of remodeling the interior of our camper so I'm spread pretty thin.

deprived
Explorer
Explorer
j-d wrote:
I think I mentioned when we corresponded, don't let the master cylinder go DRY. Were you able to prevent that, before and during the brake bleeding process?

SRockwood wrote:
Did you let it sit long enough with the lines disconnected for air bubbles to get back up into the MC or let it run dry? If so, it still needs to be bench bled.

:oNow that I am reading these responses, I can say, yep, I let the MC go dry during the front-end install. Shame on me.:S

Well, I'm going to move on!