cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hit a tree in the rv park

David0725
Explorer II
Explorer II
Well it was a great weekend camping at jetty park at Cape Canaveral. But I had a oops moment as soon as a i got there. I have been back my rvs up for many years now and consider my self a simi pro at it. So I pull to the sit the " holds a 39foot rv" I do what i have been doing for many years I back up get the rear tires on the slab line my with the edge then back up looking out the drivers side till i get the front tires on the slab. This time as soon as my front tires hit the slab i give i little gas to bump it on. Little it I realized there was a tell palm tree dead center for the slab about a foot from it. Needless to say as soon as I pump the gas to get over the slab I hit the tree ruining the bumper of my RV. I have to say I've been doing this for a long time never once as I seen a tree park in the back of a slab in the dead center Outback close. Normally I would hang the RV over the back of the slab by about 6 or 8 feet Soma water and electric lines up. So yes I blame myself for not noticing that tree but at the same time I'm thinking who in the world would put a tree dead center of a camping pad that was supposedly rated for a 39 foot and -36 foot. Had I not put the front wheels on the slab the front of the motorhome would have been in the street.
1994 Holiday Rambler Imperial DP
1999 Honda Accord V6 Toad
43 REPLIES 43

msmith1199
Explorer II
Explorer II
westernrvparkowner wrote:
lots2seeinmyrv wrote:
Pogoil wrote:
lots2seeinmyrv wrote:
Wow, give the poor guy a break. We all make mistakes. Sorry about your mishap, glad it was not worse and you get it fixed properly 🙂

And as for the kid comment...nobody's "kid" should be playing, cutting through or running around a Site that they are not assigned to and that someone is backing up in. Totally uncalled for.

Try telling this to the bus load of attorneys when you mangle someones child.