cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Induction Cooktops

bluwtr49
Explorer II
Explorer II
I have read glowing reports regarding installing an induction cook tops as a replacement for the propane units but I have no personal experience with them.

Glowing reports aside I would be very interested in hearing about the drawbacks to the replacement. Also, if one were to undertake such a project what are the best brands available.

Thanks for any input.
Dick

2002 43' DP Beaver Marquis Emerald Cat C-12 505 HP, 1600 Tq
2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland ---toad
19 REPLIES 19

lenny-shawna
Explorer
Explorer
We have a stove with a 3 burner propane cooktop. Love it. Propane was one of the must have's for us.

While we stay mostly at KOA'S or other full hook-up sites, boon-docking is something we will start doing more of therefore we wanted to rely less on electric.

We do however plan on purchasing a portable induction cook top allowing us to have the best of both worlds.
lenny-shawna 2011 Winnebago Tour 43'. Cummins 450. Freightliner Custom Chassis. Hydra-lift motorcycle carrier 2014 Harley Ultra Limited. 2012 SRX. With our 3 Beagle/Hounds

bluwtr49
Explorer II
Explorer II
Thanks again for the info. I broached the subject to DW and just got a strange look and was told in no uncertain terms to "stay out her kitchen" and she likes the propane just fine.
Dick

chuckftboy
Explorer
Explorer
While induction cooking may be the best thing since sliced bread, I thing LP will always work for me. I really like cooking with gas and since I only uses it for occasional heat to back up may heat pumps or heat hot water if I am off the grid, a tank of gas lasts between 1 and 2 years. LP, for me is very convenient
2019 Horizon 42Q Maxum Chassis w/tag
Cummins L-9 450 HP / Allison 3000
2006 Jeep TJ and 2011 Chevy Traverse Tows

cwdavis
Explorer
Explorer