Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Running generator while traveling

Gamecock7483
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to traveling with a Class A Motorhome. My questions -
1. is there any problem running the generator and Air Conditioner unit while traveling.
2. should the generator be shut down when pull in to fill up with gas?

Many thanks
17 REPLIES 17

2gypsies1
Explorer
Explorer
When you're fueling there will be gas fumes in the air which 'could' cause a fire if under the right conditions, I suppose. It's no big deal just to turn everything off, especially things with open flames.
Full-Timed for 16 Years
.... Back in S&B Again
Traveled 8 yr in a 40' 2004 Newmar Dutch Star Motorhome
& 8 yr in a 33' Travel Supreme 5th Wheel

Effy
Explorer
Explorer
dave17352 wrote:
Effy wrote:
J-Rooster wrote:
I run my genset when the temps get over 90* when traveling down the Hwy. And to your second question you don't want any type of motor running when your fueling. In fact you don't want to use your cell phone when fueling do to static electricity and fuel fumes a bad combination.

Sorry I just don't get the "don't run your motor while fueling". Other than the obvious inconvenience of carbon monoxide, millions of people pull up to pumps and pull away from pumps daily with their vehicles running, stopping, starting, running again, running through and continually running. Millions. And not a one blowing up because of it.

Interesting. I almost never see people fuel up with their gas engines running. I do see some diesels do so though.