cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slide rooms and Leveling

devildog1971
Explorer
Explorer
I was reading the manual that came with the 2002 40 foot DP. It implies to extend slides no matter how unlevel the motorhome is and after extending the slide rooms to then level the coach. I would think you would want the motorhome at least within some parameters of being level before deploying slides. It would seem if you were way out of canter it would be hard on the slide mechanisms . I have read this 3 times and it states when you arrive at your campsite take care of plugging in electric and water then deploy slides, then after slides are deployed you can then start to level your R V I guess I am really new to RV'ing at least as far as class A are concerned. With our truck campers we leveled the camper so that the refer was level what do you guys think
2019 Northern Lite 10-2 EXCDSE Dry Bath 2007 G M C dually crew cab and 2018 Harley Davidson Limited Low
16 REPLIES 16

J-Rooster
Explorer
Explorer
rv2go wrote:
I would follow the manufactures instructions.

My Winnebago states: Level, then put slides out.
X-2, I level first then put the slides out! By doing this there is no binding whatsoever in the slides.

DSDP_Don
Explorer
Explorer
I see it this way. All manufacturers have to provide a Manual with a "Procedure" for putting your slides out. If the Manual said to use common sense when deploying slides, there would be a huge outcry by people that it was too confusing. So......manufacturers give you what works best the majority of the time. If your coach says slides first, would you extend them first while the front end was hanging off of a cliff, probably not.