cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Used Class B Plus RVs American Cruiser, Chinook, R Vision

Terrenski
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to rving and looking to buy my first one. My wife and I are interested in Class B Plus used ones like a Chinook, R Vision, or American Cruiser which are smaller in the 19-21' feet range and don't have a full bed, but fold out sofa and dinette. I would appreciate input on which ones are good models and reasonable prices. There is a 1999 American Cruiser that is clean, has 37,000 miles, and the dealer lowest price is $19,999. If it is in good shape, is that low, high, or reasonable. Any thoughts would be appreciated!
Also, any thoughts on how much general upkeep does a rv require.
Thank you
Terrenski
9 REPLIES 9

Terrenski
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for the input. It's always interesting to here about these rvs that aren't around anymore but were built well. I know I have a lot of learning to do feel comfortable buying and maintaining an rv. I appreciate your responses!

Handbasket
Explorer
Explorer
As far as I know American Cruiser only made B's, and I've only seen them on the Dodge Ram Van platform. Some had dual rear wheels (added by AmC). One respected poster in the B forum had a SRW one for a short time. He reported that the handling was pretty marginal. He wound up disliking the center-couch/bed floorplan, since it required crawling over the bed to go from front living space to rear bath or kitchen when the bed was set up.

I had a '00 Roadtrek 190 on a Dodge Ram. Handling was, in a word, 'squirrely'. A test drive would be imperative, IMO.

Jim, "They say that the memory is the first.... Wait, what were we talking about?"
'06 Tiger CX 'C Minus' on a Silverado 2500HD 4x4, 8.1 & Allison (aka 'Loafer's Glory')

j-d
Explorer II
Explorer II