cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Replace Garmin Streetpilot 2720 with Kindle Fire 8.9

TenOC
Nomad
Nomad
I am new to the world of tablets. Until a year ago I was a desktop person, until I purchased my first laptop.

This week my DD gave me a Kindle Fire 8.9. Now I am learning how to use it.

Is there a good App (I think that is the correct word) for GPS navigation to replace my 10 year old Garmin Streetpilot 2720 and BaseCamp.
Please give me enough troubles, uncertainty, problems, obstacles and STRESS so that I do not become arrogant, proud, and smug in my own abilities, and enough blessings and good times that I realize that someone else is in charge of my life.

Travel Photos
12 REPLIES 12

gatorcq
Explorer
Explorer
Bill. I have found some are quite useful for height and weight. As they are based on the Truckers Maps. Now do I believe in everything, no. However when combined with the hardcopy, I find they are useful.

S&T, and the POI from Discovery Owners for height (excellent) was always very useful and reliable. Yes some will route you the long way around, however, using the hardcopy and web browser like "Mile by Mile". But as I stated, Until other online Maps (Google & Mapquest) incorporate a height routing. I take it all with a grain of salt.
Dale & Susan
DaGirls II Rv - Dakota & Tilly Traveling Companions.
2008 Alfa Gold, 2015 Ford F150 XLT
Roadmaster and Air Brake System
1600 Watts, Magnum Inv/Chg&Solar
800 Lithium Battery
DaGirslRV Blog

Bill_Satellite
Explorer II
Explorer II
gatorcq wrote:
Google will/does not have a setting for weight, height, or a setting for dirt road.

Most GPS units don't allow for weight and height. The RV ones do but they can be unreliable. The trucker versions will route you on unnecessarily long routes avoiding roads where commercial trucks are not allowed but a private RV would be.