cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Fresh water holding tank overflow HELP please

Iowa_Cowgirl
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to RVing, am getting ready to go camping tomorrow morning. I filled the fresh water holding tank this evening. I ran the hose pretty fast and my tank overflowed. How can that be? I thought the water system was a closed system other than putting water in the tank and getting it out via shower or faucet. I was told by the guy who built my rv that if I put the water in too fast, the tank can run over. Is that true or is he just pulling my leg?
I should be specific that my rv is a gooseneck horse trailer and the dressing room had a custom living quarters installed just recently. This is my first trip with the conversion installed.
Please advise. Thank you.
10 REPLIES 10

westend
Explorer
Explorer
If your rig has a tank with a tube attached to the vent and if that tube is inside the dinette area, when you fill the tank fast, the vent tube may be carrying water to the inside of the camper.

At the point you're at, it is best to access the tank and check all fittings for any leaks.
'03 F-250 4x4 CC
'71 Starcraft Wanderstar -- The Cowboy/Hilton

mlts22
Explorer
Explorer
The FW tank should splash out the overfill port, or if the pressure is too high, eventually overflow out a vent on the roof. Old-Biscuit is right here... I wonder if the tank is vented inside, the tank vent collapsed into the FW tank, or there is some other leak or compromise of the tank.

Old-Biscuit
Explorer III
Explorer III
You will need to un-seal the dinette and access the tank so that you can check if tank is cracked, fill line leaks, overflow line is not connected, vent line leaking.

IF all connections are done right.....tank should NOT leak inside rig even IF you fill too fast..it should just burp back on you thru fill line.

As the contractor how to access the tank. Something is NOT correct.
Is it time for your medication or mine?