cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Safe WiFi Hotspot

margaretmahlum
Explorer
Explorer
Looking to be on the road for a few months at a time and need to have access to a safe, secure WiFi to handle financial transactions, campground bookings etc. via the internet using my laptop and smartphone. I wonder what others have found to be the most cost effective way to accomplish this and stay connected while traveling the roads in an RV.

I am fairly new to the RV Forum. So far I have had good responses to my posts and I really do appreciate the help.
Mags
38 REPLIES 38

paulcardoza
Explorer
Explorer
McD's is OPEN wifi where anyone can connect. Presumably, your mifi is password protected and only you have access.
Paul & Sandra
Plymouth, MA
2014 Heartland Cyclone 4100 King

Harvey51
Explorer
Explorer
How is mifi or phone tethering more secure than wifi at Macdonalds? It is all wifi.
2004 E350 Adventurer (Canadian) 20 footer - Alberta, Canada
No TV + 100W solar = no generator needed

myredracer
Explorer II
Explorer II
Wifi can be ever so slow and have poor coverage, especially at CGs. We used to rely on wifi at the CG we have a membership at. Their wifi was pitiful and when kids got up in the morning and got onto the internet, it would come to a crawl or drop out. Had to get up real early and go down to the clubhouse - not fun.

We only RV in part of the year and now use a monthly Verizon mifi plan. Very good coverage most of the time and fast. Sometimes we can't get a signal, which unfortunately is at one of our favorite CGs. Verizon supposedly has the best coverage. Not cheap exactly but worth it.

DW is an accountant and a certified fraud investigator and has no issue using Verizon for financial matters as long as on an encrypted connection. It's preventing our CCs from being hacked that is an issue.