cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

2021 Suburban. How Much Trailer?

TheFifeBand
Explorer
Explorer
I just ordered a 2021 Z71 Suburban with the Max towing package. I donโ€™t have it yet, so I donโ€™t have the details provided on the yellow sticker inside the door. The manufacturer indicates 8,100 lbs as the towing capacity. Total passenger weight is 450 lbs.

I am a complete trailer newbie and do t want to be tricked into buying too big of a trailer by a salesman. I want to know the max weight I can actually tow. Based on manufacturer stats, what should I be looking at? Is 5,000 lbs dry trailer weight my max? Is there a different stat or value I should be looking at? Please help me make a smart decision.
21 REPLIES 21

carringb
Explorer
Explorer
Payload will almost certainly be your limiting factor, and you won't know yours until its delivered. You might be able to find a similar equipped one in stock, and check the white and yellow payload sticker in the driver door jamb. With the IRS being all-new, using prior year numbers won't tell us anything useful.
2000 Ford E450 V10 VAN! 450,000+ miles
2014 ORV really big trailer
2015 Ford Focus ST

JIMNLIN
Explorer
Explorer
welcome to the forum
If you don't have any weight specs (GVWR/fawr/rawr/engine size/gear ratio/etc)off the vehicle their is no way we can give you any meaningful recommendations.
"good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment" ............ Will Rogers

'03 2500 QC Dodge/Cummins HO 3.73 6 speed manual Jacobs Westach
'97 Park Avanue 28' 5er 11200 two slides

Lwiddis
Explorer II
Explorer II
TOOOOO late now but the rule is buy or select the trailer first, then match a tow vehicle to it. If you violate the rule, then you WAIT until you can read the official payload maximum, then look for a trailer.