cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Battery draining question

jj5406
Explorer
Explorer
I'm pretty new to RVing. We have been inveterate tent campers, but last fall purchased a used '07 (or '05 - somewhere around there) hybrid travel trailer (Jayco JayFeather 19-H) so I'm pretty new to many issues. Also, we typically look for more out-of-the way campgrounds and sites within campgrounds, so we are not likely to have an electrical hookup available.

We took the camper on a several day shakedown trip last fall and the only issue we had was that the battery drained down unexpectedly rapidly - resulting in a middle-of-the-night screeching alarm when the voltage to the lp detector got too low. This was unexpected because we had been very frugal with our energy usage to begin with. I recharged the battery by plugging back in to the towing hookup and letting our vehicle run for about an hour - probably got it up over 12 volts, but again it didn't even last a day. I can't remember if we had the fridge on, but we literally used nothing else after that except the occasional pump.

It could have been something unexpectedly drawing current, or just a bad battery (no idea how old the battery was - though it looked fairly new), so I figured I would just work out the details this summer.