cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Generator checklist

5er707
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to RV'ing and have a couple of generators coming my way. We already have our 5er pretty well stocked with the essentials. We are going dry camping next week and I don't really know what I should have for the generators. Any extra tools, gas cans, how much gas, etc?

Thanks
15 REPLIES 15

RangerJay
Explorer
Explorer
Presuming you have a reasonable tool kit with your trailer then it should cover any needs you have with the generator. The only extra items we carry if we plan on taking our generator is a gas container and dining fly. The dining fly serves double duty as a generator shelter if the weather turns wet.

I should point out that our generator needs never include running the air-conditioner - basically just recharging the battery and periodically running my wife's hair dryer and also the vacuum cleaner. With just these needs we can go close to a week without having to refuel our little Yamaha 1000.

Jay
2002 Bambi 19' - the "Toaster"
2009 Nissan Pathfinder - the "Buggy"

deleted-2
Explorer
Explorer
mich800 wrote:

That is pretty darn good. I do not get anywhere near that fuel economy. Unless you mean running periodically for a day and a half. I think I am in the 10-12 hour range running in eco mode.

Should have clarified sorry for the confusion.

A day and a half meant during non-quiet hours at most campgrounds here. (6 a.m. to 10 p.m.) not 36 hours straight.

mlts22
Explorer
Explorer
Regardless of brand of generator, I'd recommend an oil evac pump, full synthetic oil (splash lubrication is really hard on oil, so might as well use the best out there), spark plug wrench, replacement spark plug, and one of the more important things: