cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

MAGELLAN GPS HEADACHE

MUSKYJACK
Explorer
Explorer
I have a MAGELLAN ROADMATE gps that has TRAILERLIFE campgrounds listed in it. I am not very good with computers and I found out that my GARMIN gps is user friendly when it comes to downloading map updates, as compared to the MAGELLAN product. I have talked with a selection of magellan techs, who don't speak very good ENGLISH,nor do they have tolerance for novice computer GEEKS. I have made many phone calls and wrote letters trying to make my gps a useful tool. It just does not work properly in giving directions, nor does it provide accurate time and the voice does not work, etc, etc. Buyer beware. My MAGELLAN is going in the closet until I feel a need for agravation. MUSKYJACK
8 REPLIES 8

D_E_Bishop
Explorer
Explorer
Passin' Through wrote:
navegator wrote:
I have the best navigation system that money can buy.

It is called a wife.

She has an incredible sence of direction (built in compass????)
She can read any map, topographical maps, navigation charts, etc.

Gives very good directions and even refills the coffy cup and or the sandwitch
while we are on the road.

So I am very lucky, I hope that all of you using all of those gadgets out there
stay out of trouble by being given erroneous directions.

Yes I tried a GPS system on the computer, and found that it had so many errors that it was practically usesless in cities or on mountain roads, it wanted to send us down a side of a mountain in Arizona that is used to launch hand gliders.

Good luck navigating with the GPS.

By the way it is not the GPS that is at fault but the programs, the persons that write the programs probablly get lost in theire own homes.

nave(i)gator

Big, big, BIG thumbs-up on that! My wife is my top-notch navigator. In addition, she makes sure I stay warm at night. Try THAT with your Garmin, etc.:B