cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New Trailer gives a Harsh Ride!!

js415
Explorer
Explorer
I have been towing a 2014 Coachmen Travel trailer for the last 4 years with my Chevy 2500HD and have for the most part enjoyed a fairly smooth ride.

The Coachmen weighs in empty at 6400lbs, so probably around 7400lbs or so loaded.

Whether on interstates or side roads, we have always had a smooth ride.

Yesterday I picked up our new Heritage Glen travel trailer. This one weighs in at 8500lbs empty. So it's about 2000lbs more than the other.

I used my same Equalizer brand hitch and we set it up at the dealer. Basically the height was almost the same, so very little setup was needed.

With the trailer loaded, the rear of my truck only dropped 2" from its unloaded height.

It pulled just fine,, although I could tell the extra weight was there.

What was not expected was the harshness of the ride. I could feel every bump and crack in the interstate. Every joint I hit seemed to just "jar" the truck.

Not sure if this is what I should expect, or maybe there might be a few folks with some suggestions on improving the ride. I only drove it home, about 60 miles, so not a lot miles on this setup.

Thanks,

Jerry
11 REPLIES 11

Hannibal
Explorer
Explorer
Harsh ride to me sounds like hitch weight is too low. A trailer near balanced is going to Jerk up and down on the hitch. Our 32.5' TT tows much smoother than our previous 5th wheel. It should ride smooth.
2020 F250 STX CC SB 7.3L 10spd 3.55 4x4
2010 F250 XLT CC SB 5.4L 5spdTS 3.73
ex '95 Cummins,'98 12v Cummins,'01.5 Cummins,'03 Cummins; '05 Hemi
2017 Jayco 28RLS TT 32.5'

Cobra21
Explorer
Explorer
The hitch sounds right to me, maybe it needs to be tightened up 1 notch. I just kind of think the hitch isn't doing what it should.
Brian

js415
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for all the suggestions and comments.