Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Sugestions for Entry Level Cheap Dinghy

rowekmr
Explorer
Explorer
Hello
Just got a Class A and want to try out a dinghy. We are a family of 3 just want to try a simple, light and older car/suv (fwd or 4wd/awd)that can be bought for less than 4k to see if it works for us. I am new to this but heard I will need base plate and tow bar, lights and brake hook up but I thought I read if less than 3K weight I won't need supplemental brakes. This MH already has tow bars attached to hitch I believe.

Any suggestions?
10 Lincoln MKS Ecoboost
07 Lincoln Navigator
00 Newmar Dutch Star 3851
22 REPLIES 22

DryCreek
Explorer
Explorer
A good used Jeep Patriot with manual transmission can be had for a reasonable amount. Other than that, a used Chevy Tracker/Suzuki Sidekick is light and easy to set up for four-down towing.

Another idea would be to find a used tow dolly and pull whatever smaller front wheel drive vehicle you may already have. It could be cheaper than setting up a vehicle with a tow plate, buying the tow bar (if that isn't one on your rig already) and the lights, etc. to make it legal in most states. Several tow dollies have their own lights and surge brakes - the easiest and quickest way to get on the road. Another benefit of a tow dolly is that you can back out (slowly) if needed without having someone in the towed vehicle to stabilize the steering wheel.

Heisenberg
Explorer
Explorer
Chevrolet Tracker.
2013 Winnebago Sightseer
2017 Colorado

mowermech
Explorer
Explorer
That 3000 pound limit for braking usually applies to trailers, and it depends on the state in which you are traveling. some states are less, some states say GVWR of the trailer, some states say unladen weight of the trailer. Many states have a legal definition of "trailer" that clearly excludes towed motor vehicles.