cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Towing 2014 jeep rubicon x

Toddoo
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 2011 monaco diplomat 43dft that I am towing a 2014 jeep rubicon x with and have about 3,000 miles of towing on it. The front tires are aggressive tread tires are stock BF Goodrich mud terrain LT 255/75/R17. PROBLEM is the front tires have 100% tread has been destroyed and needed to be replaced. I want to know if anyone else has had a similar situation. I tow with a falcon 2 bar. Is this alignment or something else?
29 REPLIES 29

xctraveler
Explorer
Explorer
Toddoo wrote:
Thanks for everyone's advise on wearing of tires. I towed this weekend, total 120 miles, no visible damage I could see. From the posts I have seen the difference in height from the falcon to the jeep maybe a problem and I will try the towel on the steering wheel next tine and see what it does. Does anybody know if my jeep in Lower then the recommended 3 inches, does falcon make a adapter to lower the telescoping arms? Thanks todd

You can buy a drop hitch, they come in 2" 4" 6" and 8" they go in the receiver on the coach and lower (or raise) the mount point for the towbar by that amount. This is not the ball hitch adapter, it has a stinger that inserts in the receiver on the coach and has a receiver for the stinger on the towbar. Do not get a long 6" drop, the leverage on your hitch may break the welds, happened to me in Alaska!
Paul
2012 Phaeton 36QSH on Freightliner Chassis with a Cummins 380 pushing it. 2011 Cherry Red Jeep Wrangler Rubicon with US Gear Unified Tow Brake System. Check out my blog
FMCA 352081 SKP# 99526

FIRE_UP
Explorer
Explorer
toddoo,