Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

bad battery, system wont work on 120AC

adkfreeridex
Explorer
Explorer
Hey Guys and Gals,
Im relatively new to my trailer (18 foot fleetwood pegasus 2007), and I believe that my battery is beyond salvage. However when Im plugged in to 120AC I still dont have interior lights, pump, etc. I know that the 120AC goes to the power converter to run interior 12V accessories, but will a bad battery keep the system from running on 120? I hope so, otherwise I have bigger problems than a $100 battery.

Thanks!!
15 REPLIES 15

RJsfishin
Explorer
Explorer
Sure, buy a new battery,...even if ya don't need one.
Common sense would tell me to start w/ checking the converter voltage.
If the converter is not up to spec, the new battery won't be new for long !
MEXICOWANDERER wrote:
The biggest fault of novice troubleshooting is folks try to start in the middle and work their way to both ends at the same time. 2nd biggest is to assume the problem always lies with the most complicated device.

The battery is bad? Damned if I know how you can outwit that. Start there. New battery. Then see what the symptoms are or are not...
Rich

'01 31' Rexall Vision, Generac 5.5k, 1000 watt Honda, PD 9245 conv, 300 watts Solar, 150 watt inv, 2 Cos 6v batts, ammeters, led voltmeters all over the place, KD/sat, 2 Oly Cat heaters w/ ox, and towing a 2012 Liberty, Lowe bass boat, or a Kawi Mule.

westend
Explorer
Explorer
adkfreeridex wrote:
Wow you guys, I really appreciate all the input. I cant believe how many of you offered your knowledge. My battery was so dead that nothing would work. After being on 120 for 24 hours everything is fully functional. I am going to purchase a new deep cycle for the trip. I think that that with it being so low, it couldn't complete the circuit and the converter would not function.
Do you have a battery disconnect switch and are you using it when parked in storage?
'03 F-250 4x4 CC