cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Charger/Converter questions...

Workinprogress
Explorer
Explorer
I recently purchased a 2007 Fleetwood Gearbox, and have discovered this weekend that it has TWO charger/converters installed... one is a Magnetek 775 and the other is a PD9130. The PD9130 appears to be an add on, and the magnetek appears to be original. There is a battery cutoff switch installed in the trailer. I have 12v power in the trailer with the switch off while the generator is running, but NOT while plugged into shore power with generator off.... if I turn on the switch, I have 12v at all times obviously.

Why would someone add a second converter, and is this a common practice? Also, would they both be benificial, or should I do away with the older one and just run the PD9130? I'm a newbie with converters and have only seen one per vehicle in the past...
18 REPLIES 18

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
Sounds like the "Doorstop" Magnatek had a bad bridge relay in it.
Now the model you have I do not know but the 6300 had two "Sides" if you will. Charger (about 3 amp) and converter (like 40-45 amp; but nasty) it converted `12o VAC into not 12 DC But 12 RMS Rectified DC.. Like I said Nasty.

When not on shore power a relay "Bridged" the two so the battery provided 12 VDC to the house. If that relay was toast.. Well. exactly what you found.
Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times

time2roll
Nomad
Nomad
11.8 could be voltage sag. Get down to 5 amps and then check.

BFL13
Explorer II
Explorer II
IMO, toss the 775, keep the 9130 as the converter, and get a 9160 to use as a portable charger for fast charging on generator. You have a Charge Wizard already, so you can use that with either one as needed.