cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Did I Burn my Air Conditioning, Microwave, & Fridge?

LivingOntheLam
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to the RV world. Just finished a trip to Arizona and used a heavy duty 50ft extension Cord my dad gave me with a 15amp to 30amp adapter & surge protector designed for rv. The protector showed an open neutral but it was hot out & I used it over night. I pluged it into my friends garage wall outlet. I ran the air conditioning & fridge & briefly used the microwave. When I got home I realized it was the extension cord that was causing the open neutral. The appliances still all work but do you think i compromised their life expectancy? I am definatly going to buy a 30amp extension.

โš Did you see the "Announcement : ★★READ BEFORE POSTING HERE★★"?
    Forum Posting Help and Support is reserved for questions related to posting issues with Open Roads Forum sites, member profile and photo testing, and for reporting account issues. Please avoid using this forum for RV related questions, as doing so can delay responses to your thread. Instead, select the Sub-Forum which corresponds to the subject of your topic. Thank-you!

Moved from FORUM POSTING HELP AND SUPPORT
8 REPLIES 8

Cobra21
Explorer
Explorer
BurbMan wrote:
Where's a guy even buy a 6ga extension cord? 10 gauge is fine for 50', that's what a 30a RV cord will be.

LivingontheLam, you are fine if everything still works. Open neutrals are dangerous, more so for humans than appliances. Sounds like the cord was well grounded so you had a good circuit even though the neutral was open.

Yes 10 gauge, I stand corrected. Not enough coffee yet I guess.
Brian

LivingOntheLam
Explorer
Explorer