cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

DIY 3 way refrigerator venting (drawing)

evy
Explorer
Explorer
I'm working on my DIY conversion build out of a 2010 Ford extended E250.

I've red a lot of articles here and there about 3 way refrigerator venting, now I can't do the big two gravity vents/access door like they normally do.

But Here's another way that should provide even more air movement behind the fridge.

Using three 80mm PC fans (120cfm/0.54amps total), plugged to the fridge (I don't know how yet but I know there's a circuit especially for that) every time the fridge turns on the fans are activated.

I have never done this before, please tell me if you see anything wrong with this concept, thanks!

evy
Explorer
Explorer
westend wrote:
How will I know if there's not enough air movement in the back of the fridge?
Fridge will not cool down to safe operational temperature.

Just to make sure I understand, you mean that I will decide if the inside of the fridge is cold enough to refrigerate the food? Using a thermometer for example.

westend
Explorer
Explorer
Fridge will not cool down to safe operational temperature.
'03 F-250 4x4 CC
'71 Starcraft Wanderstar -- The Cowboy/Hilton

evy
Explorer
Explorer
Is there a high temp warning light in the panel? An error code?

evy
Explorer
Explorer
MrWizard wrote:
Buying new?
Why not forget the LP and buy a 12vdc powered compressor fridge
Like solar home and boats use Dan Foss DC powered variable speed compressor about 4 amps aka 48 Watts when running
No external venting required and way less power use, just need air circulation interior of cabinet and Van

Actually the pictures you see are from my installation so it's a bit late for going with your proposition ๐Ÿ˜•
Thanks anyway

MrWizard
Buying new?
Why not forget the LP and buy a 12vdc powered compressor fridge
Like solar home and boats use Dan Foss DC powered variable speed compressor about 4 amps aka 48 Watts when running