cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Propane Leak

fred42
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 30 lb LP bottle on each side of my fifth wheel. On the last trip, I returned to the camper to hear what sounded like water spraying out somewhere. It was propane escaping from the device shown below. It was the bottle on the sunny side behind a black door. Perhaps it was full and got too hot producing an over pressure situation?

If you see the black dot at the 9 o'clock position next to the protruding cylinder, that is a hole and gas is coming out very fast.

I shut the tank off. I am home now and want to fix it. Does anyone know what the purpose of this device is and what gas from that hole indicates? The tank on the other side has the dual tank switchover regulator that you would expect to see. It is much cooler here at home but if I turn that tank on gas still escapes from that hole.

This is my first attempt at using imgur photo hosting instead of PhotoBucket, so I hope it works.

thanks very much,
2007 Tiffin Allegro 28DA
12 REPLIES 12

Old-Biscuit
Explorer III
Explorer III
DiskDoctr wrote:
High pressure regulator? I am used to seeing those as RED. How do you guys know this is a high pressure regulator from the pic?

Because of OPs second post at 4:20pm......

Update:

It appears to be a 30 PSI High Pressure Regulator made by M. B. Sturgis. This is similar, but I have model 102M

https://mbsturgis.com/rv-propane-hoses-s........tors/30-psi-high-pressure-regulator.html

Course there was the OPs description of where it was

Far side cylinder.

That helped clue in that it was the 30# reg for far side cylinder and the reg had failed (spewing propane from 'vent' hole)
Is it time for your medication or mine?

2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
US NAVY------USS Decatur DDG31

DiskDoctr
Explorer
Explorer