cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Replacing Magnetek 6332 "Q" convertor - Any suggestions ?

Dakota98
Explorer
Explorer
It's still functioning, but ???

I understand these were very common installs by manufactures at the time the TT was built, (I purchased it used a couple of years ago).
I have also learned that it is pretty much useless for charging the coach batteries & since the TT is now 14 years old, it may be time to consider a new one. Currently, I am using my generator & a schumacher smart charger to do the job when dry camping. I would rather connect the genny to shore power hookup & do it that way.
I'm an expert in only one field....I believe it's somewhere in Kansas.

2000 / 22' SKYLINE NOMAD LITE
1998 DODGE DAKOTA / 5.2L= 8mpg.
2006 POLARIS ATV
1500/1200 Watt Champion generator
Yada Wireless Back Up Camera
1998 Dyna Wide Glide
USMC 68-74
15 REPLIES 15

time2roll
Nomad
Nomad

time2roll
Nomad
Nomad
Wayne Dohnal wrote:
From what I've seen and read, WFCO converters fail mainly because two power resistors soldered to the main board get too hot, resulting in either a fracture of the solder joint or slow changing of the board substrate into a carbon-like conductor. This is independent of the "won't go into boost mode" issue, and independent of market penetration.

Would this be a fix as simple as replacing a 1/2 watt resistor with a 2 watt resistor?
I wonder if it would be worth the effort as a maintenance item as soon as the warranty is out.

Dakota98
Explorer
Explorer
rjxj wrote:
I went with a PD4655 and it's a good USA built converter. If you boondock a lot and want fast battery charging that's another issue. For normal rv use you will be happy with a PD. It has a manual boost function for quicker charging. The upgrade kit had a new fuse panel too with blown fuse indicators.

DONT buy WFCO imo

Did your PD4655 have a "built in" Charge Wizard ??
I'm an expert in only one field....I believe it's somewhere in Kansas.