cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

vibration problem solved

ernie1
Explorer
Explorer
I've been chasing a vibration in my class b rv for a couple of years now and finally fixed it. It was coming from the drive shaft that ,according to the shop that does driveline repairs, was not straight and needed new u joints and balancing. i don't think the u joints were bad but I had to accept the word of the shop. Over the last two years I've lost hubcaps from the right rear wheel numerous times and once on the left rear. To try to correct this problem I've had the tires balanced and rebalanced and finally had it road force balanced. None of the balances seemed to do any good and I had just installed the second set of tires during this period of time. It was determined that the tires were not defective and causing the vibration. I also purchased a new set of wheel spacers thinking the old set was the source of my problem. No such luck. Finally the only thing left to do was to check the drive shaft for issues. Now that the problem is corrected the rv drives smoothly with no vibration what so ever. I have a 2005 PleasureWay Excel on a Ford E350 chassis.
7 REPLIES 7

j-d
Explorer II
Explorer II
Never said you should not have. My points were

problem isn't always the joints

even the balance

or even the center bearing

could have left factory that way

there are some honest shops after all

who figure out what's actually wrong

I don't know what it's called, I'll say "face angle" meaning that the flange on the front of the differential should not be vertical to the road surface. Rather angled to reduce the amount the UJoint has to flex.

The older I get the more likely I am, to change out every part I touch on a repair, hoping I won't have to go back into at least that area, again...
If God's Your Co-Pilot Move Over, jd
2003 Jayco Escapade 31A on 2002 Ford E450 V10 4R100 218" WB

ernie1
Explorer
Explorer