cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1/2 ton or 3/4 ton?

bryoderwls
Explorer
Explorer
I am towing a 27' Rockwood Ultralight, weight is under 7,000. I was told by a Ford dealer, that wanted to sell a vehicle apparently, that the 2007 Expedition would do just fine. I'm a novice and took his advice. Many of you will realize it was horrible advice. After 4 years of asking camper people, mechanics and just the general public to try to figure out why it felt like I was "floating down the road" above 50 mph, all of a sudden it seems like everybody I ask now says "the air suspension system is terrible for pulling. It will make it feel like you're floating." Now I'm looking for a different truck.

We are weekend/local campers with about a 400-500 mile max traveling. The Chevy is my preference, but since we mostly use the vehicle for every day driving, the 2500 is a gas guzzler. It also is too big to fit in my garage! I would like to look at the 1500, but want some advice about it. We live in Ohio, so not tremendously large hills.
30 REPLIES 30

Wishin
Explorer
Explorer