cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1987 Nomad AC Blowing cold then warm then cold

87nomaderwhat
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 1987 Skyline Nomad 2440, with a Dometic AC unit that uses R22 freon. It blows semi cold air for about ten minutes or so then it changes to warm and then back to cool again and so on.

I blew out the fins.

Oh, and also the trailer was plugged into the 120v

What else can be wrong.

Please help!

I will be grateful NoMadder what.
10 REPLIES 10

prolandsurveyor
Explorer
Explorer
I work on havc for a living.....it could be going out on low pressure(I always put saddle valves on mine so I can check the charge but it Also could be a tstat problem.....my older units had a low medium and high settings...it wouldn't cut off the blower motor it would just cut off the compressor....
2013 Thor majestic 28a
1971 vw superbeetle

87nomaderwhat
Explorer
Explorer
well, I dont think this is the original unit because i have owners manuals for another unit that has different model numbers. also I noticed that my top cover is sheet metal instead of the plastic white cover. could this be a problem as well?

krobbe
Explorer
Explorer
If your ac unit is 27 yrs old, it very well may be worn out. Being a sealed system, no freon should be leaking out. And if it is, what is to be done about it to prevent the new freon from leaking out. The Clean Air Act doesn't allow R22 Freon to be vented to the atmosphere. This may be a problem for a repair shop's heating and cooling tech to install a tap and risk a violation. I wouldn't risk my electrical license in such a manner as it would definitely harm my lively hood.
Me'62, DW'67, DS'04, DD'07
'03 Chevy Suburban 2500LT 4WD Vortec8.1L 4L85-E 3.73 CurtClassV
'09 BulletPremier295BHS 33'4" 7200#Loaded 1100#Tongue Equal-i-zerHitch Tires:Kumho857
Pics

campigloo
Explorer
Explorer
An a/c mechanic may be able to put a tap in the line.

krobbe
Explorer
Explorer