cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

3 tow vehicle choices for single long haul tow-need help

zombojoe
Explorer
Explorer
Hey everybody, I'm new to the site, and need a bit of help. I recently co-inherited a 1966 Airstream with my sister, weighing in at approx 4300 lbs (tandem axle, 26 ft). Long story short, we are giving it to a distant family member as a birthday surprise due to lack of storage on our part, among other things. The problem is we are in B.C, Canada, and the recipient is retired in Florida. This is my first time towing long distance, with most of my limited experience being towing my dad's 16 ft powerboat in city with a Yukon. So far, we have three options for tow vehicles.

option 1: a 2014 Ford Flex 3.5 liter ecoboost, AWD, with factory class 3 tow package,it has all the bells and whistles, trailer sway control, and a 4500 lb capacity- basically brand new with but very close to the max towing capacity.

option 2: a 2003 Toyota Tundra single cab 2WD with a 3.4 liter v6 and 5 speed manual tranny. It has an aftermarket receiver hitch (no tow package), a 2 inch lift, an aftermarket locking rear diff, and apparently a 5000 Lb capacity (has trailer wiring as well).