cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Caulking and maintenance

nwbearcat1998
Explorer
Explorer
Hello, I'm a newbie to maintaining my new TT.

I previously owned an older trailer; I'll admit didn't take care of as much as I should've and took a loss on it to sell it.

I did maintain the roof by filling cracks with self leveling dicor is all.

I don't want to make that same mistake again so before winterizing the trailer in the next two weeks what are the best maintenance item to review?

For example, the places where the corner molding is attached and old caulking is cracked on the outside of it should be scraped off and replaced??
39 REPLIES 39

JBarca
Nomad II
Nomad II
westend wrote:

John,
I've not had a problem with the 3M caulk remover lifting or dissolving paint. I haven't used it on EPDM.

Snip....

Basically, John, if my BMW had a bead of silicone on it, I wouldn't be afraid of using the caulk remover.

Thanks a million Westend.

John
2005 Ford F350 Super Duty, 4x4; 6.8L V10 with 4.10 RA, 21,000 GCWR, 11,000 GVWR, upgraded 2 1/2" Towbeast Receiver. Hitched with a 1,700# Reese HP WD, HP Dual Cam to a 2004 Sunline Solaris T310R travel trailer.

nwbearcat1998
Explorer
Explorer
After reading numerous reviews, I ended up getting ORANGE-SOL 10022 Contractor Solvent
along with some Lexel and I plan on working on this tomorrow or Sunday.

I will post a review of how well the ORANGE-SOL 10022 Contractor Solvent works.

Ralph_Cramden
Explorer II
Explorer II
ken56 wrote:
No silicone on your trailer.

If it's a Keystone it very well could have Tremco Trempro 645, a neutral cure silicone.

There is a misconception on RV forums about silicone sealants. There are plenty of great silicone sealants that will go up against anything in the adhesion, flexibility, and longevity columns. You wont find them at ACE or the big boxes. Proper preparation is the key with them like anything else, as is a neutral cure product opposed to an acetic cure.