cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cougar 32RBK Travel Trailer

rjkalv11870
Explorer
Explorer
I purchased a Cougar 32RBK travel Trailer last August. This trailer has an outside camp kitchen with a sink, stove top and refrigerator. I live in Lower Michigan. I am a newbie and was told I could use the trailer in the sping and fall because it has the polar package. While camping in Mid-April of this year it fell below 32 degrees during the night 2 days in a row. The outside camp sink faucet froze, cracked and leaked. I was told by Keystone, sorry the warranty won't cover this because it is freeze damage. The only asnwer they would give me as to what I could do to avoid this during spring and fall was "winterize it" That is not practical while camping, I get winterizing it in the winter, but not fall and spring when I was told it could be used. My questions are...has anyone else had this issue and have they been able to modify the sink with a shut off of some sort or am I stuck not being able to ever camp if it might get cold...Thanks
5 REPLIES 5

6_7_tow_rig
Explorer
Explorer
No way I would put a heater in my outdoor kitchen with the door closed. Its only 16" deep. That's a fire for sure. We only camp in the fall winter and spring because we hate the heat and crowds. When really cold we close the outdoor kitchen hatch at night and leave the light on to give a little heat. I don't know about yours but we also have a refrigerator that puts out some heat as well. Never had anything freeze and we have camped in temps down to 15 degrees.
2018 Dodge Ram 2500 Laramie Cummins 4x4
2013 Primetime Lacrosse 318bhs

Horse_Doctor
Explorer
Explorer
If you can find the hot and cold supply lines in an area where you can access them, install valves and fittings to blow the lines out with compressed air. You can then "winterize" the outside faucet/sink and use the rest of the trailer during times when a freeze might occur.