cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Dirty roof-what are you guys using to clean?

yankeeslover
Explorer
Explorer
My TT is one years old... local dealer just did a free roof inspection as part of there NYS inspection.. just called me and told me that the roof is dirty and that it looks like its parked under tree in summer... wants over $200.00 to clean the roof.. I told him "no thanks" will do myself.... with that said.. I don't really care if the roof is spotless as long as it last as long as possible. I don't want to go up there scrubbing stuff if it can wear the roof down a bit... will just a hose work? or should I also get a sponge type of mop up there? I don't want to get anything rough that will wear the top off....so I can either
A)just hose it off
B)hose it off and gently scrub with a sponge mop
C)spray dicor aftermarket roof cleaner spray and sponge mop and spray with hose...
Im really sorry about these questions. im new to all this and I know a lot of your have years experience. I rather have a dirty roof that last 20 years then a clean roof that last 10-15 years......And I say that because I assume that the more you clean your roof with dicor cleaner or a mop it will wear the roof down some....thank you...
28 REPLIES 28

Halmfamily
Explorer
Explorer
I use Dawn twice a year.
2008 GMC Sierra 3500 SLT DRW D/A 4x4 (Big All)
2006 Ford F350 PSD SRW King Ranch 4x4 (Henry) (Sold)
B&W Companion, 90 Aux Fuel Tank, Scan Gauge II, Curt f/m hitch, Swagman XC
2015 Forest River Sierra 360 PDEK
DW Diane, DS Michael, FB Draco and Sabian

Chuck_in_va
Explorer
Explorer
That's what I thought, a tall step ladder and scrub brush with a extension will handle the job.

Huntindog
Explorer
Explorer
Chuck in va wrote:
How much weight will the roof hold ? My Windjammer has a ladder on the rear, I thought it was for looks. Will it actually hold someone ?
Some have walk on roofs. Many don't.
Don't guess. If you aren't sure... Don't do it.
Huntindog