cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Do batteries charge while driving?

cdoc83
Explorer
Explorer
Hey all, I'm just getting into camping with a travel trailer and was wondering if the batteries "automatically" charge while attached to the tow vehicle? I have verified I have 12v+ at the correct pin on the 7 pole trailer plug but got wondering if simply plugging in is the equivalent of putting two batteries together of different charge levels (which, if I understand correctly, is really bad on the wiring and the batteries as they equalize)? Is there supposed to be some kind of inline resistance to ensure nothing bad happens, or is it fine to have a wire directly from the tow vehicle battery to the travel trailer battery (through the connector of course)?
19 REPLIES 19

valhalla360
Nomad III
Nomad III
Yes it will charge the RV battery but it will be slow. It won't cause any damage to the system. (don't leave it hooked up overnight or differences in battery charge could drain one).

With an RV fridge, the first question is does it have a 12v DC option. Some do but most run on either propane or 120v AC. If it has the 12v DC option, expect around 12amps as the heating element usually runs around 150w. If the truck wiring is in good shape and connected properly, that's about as much as you can expect.

If you want to charge the batteries, there are better options. Anything you get while driving consider it a bonus.
Tammy & Mike
Ford F250 V10
2021 Gray Wolf
Gemini Catamaran 34'
Full Time spliting time between boat and RV

PaulJ2
Explorer
Explorer
With my truck the most i saw was about 15 amp. Usually about 10 amp was normal. #10 wire all the way. Had an analog meter in the circuit.

rbpru
Explorer
Explorer
The way my F-150 is set up, it provides some charging current while we travel.

Since the frig automatically switches to propane when the electricity is disconnected the frig electric is minimal, just enough to power the frig's brain.