cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Have you switched from friction sway control to HA or P#?

larryscsi
Explorer
Explorer
I have been using the Reese Dual Cam for 6 years on two different TTs. My last trip has got me thinking about going to the P3. The Reese has worked well with a moment here or there. However, the last trip was on Interstate 81 in the mountains with heavy Tractor Trailer traffic. I was on high alert the entire drive and had a lot of sway...

Anyone else have such an adventure and then go to the HA or P3? Please let me know if you found a difference?

Thanks.
41 REPLIES 41

mister_d
Explorer
Explorer
Reese Dual Cam to HA for us ... I now let my wife help tow on long trips while I sleep .. it's that safe(;
Our Adventures
Me '77 DW '78
DD '04 DS '07
Yellowstone + more Trip Report
2011 F150 4x4 Ecoboost 6.5 SCREW 3.73 Max Tow
2011 Lacrosse 296BHS video tour
Hensley Arrow

Wes_Tausend
Explorer
Explorer
93Cobra2771 wrote:

My HA I picked up second hand had elongated holes in the same position on both sides. The HA people said it was caused by improperly adjusted strut bars, allowing the head to flop back and forth.

I once turned too sharp and the rear frame mount brackets moved slightly. This is in spite of hefty C-bolt clamps and shearbolts. This loosened the struts of course. Because of the fulcrum ratio, the strut adjustment only need be a half thread loose to cause a major side-to-side "bump" swivel effect which begans to damage parts. Check the struts often, I guess. I'm still learning.

Wes
Days spent camping are not subtracted from one's total.
- 2019 Leprechaun 311FS Class C
- Linda, Wes and Quincy the Standard Brown Poodle

jspence1
Explorer
Explorer