cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

High Octane Gas?

cccougar
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 2014 2500 HD Ram with the 5.7 Hemi.. and have been putting reg gas in it. With the camping season upon us and towing every other weekend, should I be putting a higher octane in it? Will this help with performance? This is my first season towing- so I am very new to this.
Thanks.
50 REPLIES 50

philh
Explorer II
Explorer II
Turtle n Peeps wrote:
You can keep on saying it, but it's still not correct.

You might have heard of Sunoco? They make a few gallons of gasoline / day.

Actually, it's on Sunoco's site where they list the Btu and octane levels of the various gasolines.

eichacsj
Explorer
Explorer
Octane recommendation has to do with compression ratio. The MFG recommendation is based on that. If you modified your engine to increase the compression ratio then you may need to deviate from the MFG instruction. If not follow the MFG.

On mine I do find I get better performance from mid grade (89). Some states the low grade can get to 84, 85 octane so don't just hit the button, look at the octane at the pump when traveling. In today's engines you can't hear the "ping" because the computer adjusts it out, i.e. retarding the timing to stop it, which can lower performance, so don't try to listen for that. If it gets that bad you cna hear it then you have one of 2 issues, a sensor problem or have exceeded the the rating to the computers extreme, like running 84 where you should run 87.
2014 Arctic Fox 30U
2001 Silverado 2500 HD, 4WD
8.1 Vortec / 4.10 gears / ATS Stage 2 Allison Transmission with Co-Pilot
Tekonsha Prodigy P2 Brake Controller
Reece Class 5 Hitch with 1700lb bars

majorgator
Explorer
Explorer
FelixTC wrote:
Cccougar,