cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Kayak

MisconductOIB
Explorer
Explorer
Ok question for everyone out there. I am new to camping and this will be my first complete season and I was wondering do any of you guys travel with a Kayak for fishing or exploring? It would mostly be me and my 8 year old son and on occasion wife and 11 year old daughter. I am just wondering what would be some good models to look at and carry on top of my Expedition tow vehicle?
2016 Days camped
2013 Tracer Air 240
2012 Ford Expedition
33 REPLIES 33

cyberiankhatru
Explorer
Explorer
My wife hated my canoe. Sold it and bought a used necky manitou II tandem for me and my daughter. Wife still likes her Wilderness 12' Pungo best. We carry both on the Exped roof on a pieced together used Thule rack and used Malone Gullwing cradles. The Necky is a little too big for the J-style cradles we tried.
As you can see I buy USED every chance I get. Around here there are always used boats on craigslist. Rack parts can be found on eBay and CL. I needed a way to be modular so I set up an old Jon boat trailer or accept the parts as well.
One day I'll sell the tandem, give my Pungo to Doodle, and I'll get back in my BOB (big Orange boat - necky elaho). It misses me.

MOREDLEG
Explorer
Explorer
Here is our set up, Me, wife, girl 11, girl 13,
We kayak exclujsivley on Ozark rivers and streams. I guess I bought the kids their own yaks when they were about 10, they couldnt handle their own before that. I have a tandem sit on that I carried the kids on until they got their own. Ill probably get rid of the tandem this year and get a solo fishing yak.