Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Northern Lite campers No Black Tank Clean out

Spruce_Dually
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here.
I am very close to purchasing a new truck camper.
Wifey and I have narrowed it down to the Northern Lite 10-2 or the Bigfoot 25c10.6.
Mostly leaning toward the NL. However i have noticed that the NL does not have a black tank
clean out system where the Bigfoot does.
Keith at NL tells me that it is not necessary if you use the proper chemicals.
Any thoughts or experiences?

Thank You
41 REPLIES 41

Spruce_Dually
Explorer
Explorer
mbloof wrote:
Spruce Dually wrote:
"As far as the system being a holding tank,that is correct but the chemicals that you add are for odor not for the decomposition of the effluent in the tank".

I use Thetford "AquaKem" in my holding tanks.

Thetford 10801 Aqua-KEM Original-Holding Tank Treatment-Deodorizer-Waste Digester-Detergent.

It helps break down waste AND make it smell better.

- Mark0.

Thank you Mark

Thetford , I'll have to look that up.

So, Break it down AND make it smell better.
Works on even the toughest of jobs.
That's some powerful stuff.
Might try it in the washing machine with a load of underwear. LOL

The ever growing list of stuff to take with you.
I think that I am going to need a cargo trailer.

mbloof
Explorer
Explorer
Spruce Dually wrote:
"As far as the system being a holding tank,that is correct but the chemicals that you add are for odor not for the decomposition of the effluent in the tank".

I use Thetford "AquaKem" in my holding tanks.

Thetford 10801 Aqua-KEM Original-Holding Tank Treatment-Deodorizer-Waste Digester-Detergent.

It helps break down waste AND make it smell better.

- Mark0.

Spruce_Dually
Explorer
Explorer

Good to know. I haven't spent any time researching the chemicals. I had made the assumption (apparently the wrong assumption) that they were for decomp.