cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Which side to put awning and door of TT?

jegarner
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all. Need advice.

I'm designing a custom trailer, and trying to decide which side to put the door and the awning.

I'm new to RVing so I don't know if there is a benefit to one side versus the other, right or left.

In your experience, is either side preferable?

Thanks for any input!!
12 REPLIES 12

SoCalDesertRid1
Explorer
Explorer
Entry door(s) and awning on passenger (curb) side.
Sewer, water and electrical hookups on driver (street) side.

I don't recall ever seeing a travel trailer that had the door and awning opposite from that standard. There may be some that have the hookups on the opposite side, maybe I didn't notice.

I certainly like your idea of building an all metal trailer. Should last several years longer than a wood trailer.

You may want to consider building the inside of a metal cargo trailer into an RV, instead of building the entire trailer chassis and body from scratch. Probably save alot of money.

If you build it from a cargo trailer that has a rear ramp door, you can use it as a toyhauler too, and can fold the ramp down flat and screen it in like a tent, as an add on room while camping. They sell those tent/screen rooms for toyhaulers with rear ramp doors.
01 International 4800 4x4 CrewCab DT466E Allison MD3060
69Bronco 86Samurai 85ATC250R 89CR500
98Ranger 96Tacoma
20' BigTex flatbed
8' truck camper, 14' Aristocrat TT
73 Kona 17' ski boat & Mercury 1150TB
92F350 CrewCab 4x4 351/C6 285 BFG AT 4.56 & LockRite rear

valhalla360
Nomad III
Nomad III
Unless you are planning to take it to a country where they drive on the left side of the road, Starboard side entrance door makes the most sense. Even a rear door is problematic if you get into a site that backs up against trees and brush.